Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 23, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 94 – My Questions As Well!

Day 2705: Back to our study of Psalms!

Scripture:  Rise up, O Judge of the earth, render recompense to the proud. How long shall the wicked, O Lord, how long shall the wicked exult? They pour forth words, they speak arrogantly; all who do wickedness vaunt themselves. They slay the widow and the stranger and murder the orphans. They have said, “The Lord does not see, nor does the God of Jacob pay heed.” He who planted the ear, does He not hear? He who formed the eye, does He not see? 

Blessed is the man whom You chasten, O Lord, and whom You teach out of Your law; that You may grant him relief from the days of adversity, until a pit is dug for the wicked. For the Lord will not abandon His people, nor will He forsake His inheritance.

When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your consolations delight my soul. The Lord has been my stronghold, and my God the rock of my refuge. He has brought back their wickedness upon them and will destroy them in their evil.  Excerpts from Psalm 94

Thoughts/questions:  Often my vertical questions to God frustrate me similar to the frustration in today’s Psalm. Why are You letting this happen God, and just when are You finally going to stop it??? God, do You have any clue as to what’s going on in this world, especially the treatment of the followers of Your Son?

However, after a bit of time, I again agree with the Psalmist – When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your consolations delight my soul. His ways are certainly not my ways; He is God and I’m not; His purposes far exceed my limited understanding; I find myself within the process while He knows the final chapter; my relationship with God is based on faith not knowledge – I am comforted; I find peace. I trust you do as well!

Suggested Prayer: Dear God, thank You that you are the Lord Almighty . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

