Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 31, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 101 – No Worthless Thing!

Day 2712: 1/4 of 2017 already gone . . . Live each day to the fullest!

Scripture:  I will sing of lovingkindness and justice, to You, O Lord, I will sing praises. I will set no worthless thing before my eyes; I hate the work of those who fall away; it shall not fasten its grip on me. A perverse heart shall depart from me; I will know no evil. 

My eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me; He who walks in a blameless way is the one who will minister to me. He who practices deceit shall not dwell within my house; he who speaks falsehood shall not maintain his position before me.  Excerpts from Psalm 101

Thoughts/questions: The Psalmist clearly delineates what he does and what he doesn’t want to have as part of his life! And his phrasing is so interesting. I especially like I will set no worthless thing before my eyes! Our eyes take in so much and most of that is not by choice, BUT we do have direct input into that which we intentionally set before our eyes! Have we been living our lives in agreement with the Psalmist, or have we been choosing some worthless things?

We all must be careful, as sin causes many to fall away and sin has a way of fastening its grip on us. Hebrews tells us to fix our eyes on Jesus and this Psalm encourages us to also have our eyes on the faithful.

Final question: Are your eyes on the faithful or too often set on worthless things? Maybe it’s time for a change! 

Suggested Prayer: Dear Jesus, help me to keep my eyes pure and set on You and those who remain faithful . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

