Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 3, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 103:1-5 – Bless the Lord, O my Soul!

Day 2714: Today I start to work again! A 2.5 month, 3 days a week job as Head of School for our local K – 12 Christian school. Blessed to serve; prayers appreciated!

Scripture: Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless His holy name. Bless the Lord, O my soul, and do not forget any of His benefits; Who pardons all my iniquities, Who heals all my diseases; 

Who redeems my life from the pit, Who crowns me with lovingkindness and compassion; Who satisfies my years with good things, so that my youth is renewed like the eagle. Psalm 103:1-5

Thoughts/questions: I was going to just do excerpts from this Psalm, but it is far too important to break up, and then I thought, “What’s the rush to get through, anyway?” Remember, it’s Bless the Lord, O my soul, NOT Bless my soul O Lord!!! Our prayers are filled with the latter, so may our lives be characterized by the former.

God’s benefits – forgives our sins past, present, and future; ultimately heals ALL diseases when we’re in heaven and takes care of us now; removes us from the pit of slavery to sin and self and gives us the freedom to become who He has designed us to be; empowers us to live a life filled with kindness and compassion; answers the Rolling Stone complaint of ‘I can’t get no, satisfaction!’ by giving us purpose and hope; and regenerates our being we when truly rest in Him!

Yes, bless the Lord, O my soul and all that is within me, bless His holy name!

Suggested Prayer: Almighty God, may I never forget all that You have done for me . . .

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

