Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 22, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 109:1-16 – Let Them Have It!

Day 2731: Everything else you are doing this weekend plus God, or God plus everything else?

Scripture:  O God of my praise! For the mouth of the wicked has surrounded me with words of hatred. In return for my love they are my accusers, but I give myself to prayer. Thus they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love. 

Let his days be few, and let his children be fatherless, and his wife a widow. Let his children continually be vagabonds, and beg. Let the creditor seize all that he has, and let strangers plunder his labor. Let his posterity be cut off, and in the generation following let their name be blotted out. 

Let the iniquity of his fathers be remembered before the Lord, and let not the sin of his mother be blotted out; because he did not remember to show mercy, but persecuted the poor and needy man, that he might even slay the broken in heart. Excerpts from Psalm 109:1-16

Thoughts/questions: This Psalm has been said to contain some of the worse curses in the Bible. He states that he gave himself to prayer, but I hope to never pray this about anyone, nor have this prayer said about me!

How do you respond to opposition, inappropriate treatment, or not getting what you hoped for? Trust or revenge? Faith or fear? Discouragement or hope? Hate or love? Anger or peace?

On the cross Jesus’s final words were, “Father, into Your hands I commit My Spirit.” Can we repeat His commitment regarding our lives? To rely on self when things get difficult takes one on an all-consuming path. Entrust your life to a faithful Creator, learn to accept in faith what life throws at you, and choose the Fruit of the Spirit as how you then shall live!

Suggested Prayer: Lord God, let me live a life of love . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

