Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 2, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 116 – Precious?

Day 2739: Tis the season to enjoy these great Spring days and praise the Creator of these days!

Scripture:  I love the Lord, because He has heard my voice and my supplications. Because He has inclined His ear to me, therefore I will call upon Him as long as I live. Gracious is the Lord, and righteous; yes, our God is merciful. 

The Lord preserves the simple; I was brought low, and He saved me. Return to your rest, O my soul, for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you. Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His saints. You have loosed my bonds.

I will pay my vows to the Lord now in the presence of all His people, in the courts of the Lord’s house, in the midst of you, O Jerusalem. Praise the Lord!  Excerpts from Psalm 116

Thoughts/questions: Our God is gracious and merciful – we don’t get what we deserve, and on top of that, we get something we don’t deserve!!! Now that’s the combo plate of a lifetime!

Death is precious??? Ironically, I was just reading The Voice of the Martyrs moments before blogging and read this quote from a persecuted Christ follower in Somali, “I believe suffering is a gift from God . . . We are also not just granted to believe, but to suffer.”

Combined with Paul’s words, “To me to live is Christ and to die is gain” and God knows that when we leave earth, we then truly BEGIN to live! So the reception at our second birth will be a precious time – not just for God, but for us as well!

The best is yet ahead!!!

Suggested Prayer: Lord Jesus, thank You for the gift of eternity . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

