Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 22, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:17-24 – Open My Eyes!

Day 2756: Monday, Monday – can’t trust that day . . . (Remembering that old Mamas and Papas’ hit song!

Scripture: Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live and keep Your word. Open my eyes, that I may behold wonderful things from Your law. I am a stranger in the earth; do not hide Your commandments from me. 

My soul is crushed with longing after Your ordinances at all times. You rebuke the arrogant, the cursed, who wander from Your commandments. Take away reproach and contempt from me, for I observe Your testimonies. Even though princes sit and talk against me, Your servant meditates on Your statutes. Your testimonies also are my delight; they are my counselors.  Psalm 119:17-24

Thoughts/questions: Jesus spoke about people having ears but not hearing and eyes but not really seeing in Matthew 13:13. The Psalmist repeats this same theme, so there must be something to it. Most of us have used some kind of device to improve or change our vision whether that be sunglasses or binoculars, so we understand the concept of seeing better!

Our physical eyes are limited with birds of prey having far better vision than ours. Our spiritual vision is not always the best either. We view God with blinders restricting our ability to capture the wonder, majesty, and depth of The Almighty. We need to see like Elisha’s servant in II Kings 6!

Seek to have God open your eyes to see Jesus clearly; people as He sees them; events through the lens of His word; and the world as part of creation, not as if we were the Creator!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, open my eyes to ALL You have for me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

