Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 24, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:33-40 – Delight in Commandments?

Day 2758: Don’t be conformed to the world!!! Transform!!!

Scripture:  Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes, and I shall observe it to the end. Give me understanding, that I may observe Your law and keep it with all my heart. Make me walk in the path of Your commandments, for I delight in it. Incline my heart to Your testimonies and not to dishonest gain.

Turn away my eyes from looking at vanity, and revive me in Your ways. Establish Your word to Your servant, as that which produces reverence for You. Turn away my reproach which I dread, for Your ordinances are good. Behold, I long for Your precepts; revive me through Your righteousness.  Psalm 119:33-40

Thoughts/questions: Most of us don’t relish being told what to do, so for the Psalmist to write about delighting in God’s commandments may seem a bit foreign. However, let’s look into this a bit further.

If I want to accomplish a skill, say shooting a basketball, it would make sense for me to be coached by a skilled shooter, say Steph Curry. If he were to tell me what to do, I would delight in doing it. His statutes, law, commandments, testimonies, ways, word, ordinances, and precepts wouldn’t be ignored or held in contempt, they would be followed to the letter!

God’s commandments provide a path for us to follow so that we can be successful now and for eternity. No wonder the Psalmist longs for them. Do you?

Suggested prayer: Lord God Almighty, You’ve given me rules for my benefit. Help me to accept them and to eagerly follow them . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

