Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 26, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:49-56 – He Makes Us Hope!

Day 2760: Forgiven – always a WOW! On Friday, TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven!

Scripture: Remember the word to Your servant, in which You have made me hope. This is my comfort in my affliction, that Your word has revived me. The arrogant utterly deride me, yet I do not turn aside from Your law. I have remembered Your ordinances from of old, O Lord, and comfort myself.

Burning indignation has seized me because of the wicked, who forsake Your law. Your statutes are my songs in the house of my pilgrimage. Lord, I remember Your name in the night, and keep Your law. This has become mine, that I observe Your precepts.  Psalm 119:49-56

Thoughts/questions: Hope lost results in despair. They say that when people are held in a camp type confinement/prison, the suicide rate goes way up in January. Why? They had hope they would get out during that year and when the year ended, their hope turned to despair.

Probably most readers of God2me have some form of hope based on God’s promises in His word. Make sure this is not a Santa Claus at Christmas hope in which we are good, ask for what we want, and Santa/God gives us our requests.

This is not a God who is omnipotent and omnipresent and all knowing – this is a puppet and we are the puppet master! Our hope is in the Lord! Our hope rests on His eternal promises, some of which will only be fulfilled in eternity! We can always have hope, EVEN when we don’t get what we want!

Suggested prayer: Father God, may my life be one in which as the songwriter wrote – ‘my hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness’ . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

