Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 27, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:57-64 – My Portion!

Day 2761: A beautiful time for a beautiful weekend!

Scripture:  The Lord is my portion; I have promised to keep Your words. I sought Your favor with all my heart; be gracious to me according to Your word. I considered my ways
and turned my feet to Your testimonies. I hastened and did not delay to keep Your commandments. 

The cords of the wicked have encircled me, but I have not forgotten Your law. At midnight I shall rise to give thanks to You because of Your righteous ordinances. I am a companion of all those who fear You, and of those who keep Your precepts. The earth is full of Your lovingkindness, O Lord; teach me Your statutes.  Psalm 119:57-64

Thoughts/questions: The Lord is my portion! I recently returned from a cruise and food was in abundance, sometimes in the form of an all you can eat buffet. People took various amounts of different food choices – each picked their portion! I prefer some form of dessert!

Can you imagine a buffet for life. You could pick one or many things and try to have it all. Love, fame, riches, power . . . whatever portion you wanted. Today’s Psalmist states, “The Lord is his portion.” How about you? Are you picking other portions to complete your life, or have you chosen to make the Lord your portion. When we do, He is enough!

Suggested prayer: Father God, so often I make the wrong choice and fill my life with everything but You. May I begin to choose You and You alone . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

