Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 31, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:73-80 – The Artist, My Creator!

Day 2764: This is a day to rejoice!!!

Scripture: Your hands have made and fashioned me; give me understanding that I may learn Your commandments. Those who fear You shall see me and rejoice, because I have hoped in Your word. I know, O Lord, that Your rules are righteous, and that in faithfulness You have afflicted me. Let Your steadfast love comfort me according to Your promise to Your servant.

Let Your mercy come to me, that I may live; for Your law is my delight. Let the insolent be put to shame, because they have wronged me with falsehood; as for me, I will meditate on Your precepts. Let those who fear You turn to me, that they may know Your testimonies. May my heart be blameless in Your statutes, that I may not be put to shame! Psalm 119:73-80

Thoughts/questions: While in Europe observing paintings in castles and museums, we learned that the artist painted certain people to represent their lands, or their position in life, or an aspect of their society – it was not merely an indiscriminate painting or some random person. They were painted for a purpose!

The Psalmist knows this about his Creator. He states, Your hands have made and fashioned me. Like the European painters, God did far more than randomly put us together without purpose or design. NO, we were ALL fashioned by His hands! Fashioned is to make into a required form!

Our presence is required right here, right now by Almighty God to accomplish His will on the earth. More than just being on God’s team, we are to be completely aware of our uniqueness – a uniqueness which is to send a message to those who look at our lives as I looked at the paintings!

We are fearfully and wonderfully made! There is NO one like us! We are God’s handiwork! Rejoice in what He has done!

Suggested prayer: Creator God, thank You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

