Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 6, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:105-112 – A Lamp and a Light!

Day 2769: Use your words to create, not destroy!

Scripture: Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. I have sworn and I will confirm it, that I will keep Your righteous ordinances. I am exceedingly afflicted; revive me, O Lord, according to Your word. O accept the freewill offerings of my mouth, O Lord, and teach me Your ordinances.

My life is continually in my hand, yet I do not forget Your law. The wicked have laid a snare for me, yet I have not gone astray from Your precepts. I have inherited Your testimonies forever, for they are the joy of my heart. I have inclined my heart to perform Your statutes forever, even to the end.   Psalm 119:105-112

Thoughts/questions: Show me the way . . .  When we traveled in Europe and were lost, we often needed someone to ‘show us the way’ and they always did – and we were very thankful. Darkness also gives us the feeling of being lost, but in that instance, we only need light.

This Psalm states that God provides the light – for the immediate and down the road a bit! A lamp to our feet – the immediate light for one step at a time like a flashlight when camping can bring confidence for that very next step. And a light to our path – for our future like a lantern when camping lights up an entire area!

Sometimes we need the lamp and the light, but one is enough! Having one requires stepping out in faith – a good thing. So feeling like you’re in the dark? Get the flashlight and the lantern by taking in God’s word!!! His word will bring you light!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, without You I am wandering in the dark. Thank You for bringing light into my life . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

