Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 8, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:121-128 – Dishonesty!

Day 2771: Can’t believe I’ll be at my 50th reunion tonight . . .  I’m old!

Scripture: I have done justice and righteousness; do not leave me to my oppressors. Be surety for Your servant for good; do not let the arrogant oppress me. My eyes fail with longing for Your salvation and for Your righteous word. Deal with Your servant according to Your lovingkindness and teach me Your statutes.

I am Your servant; give me understanding, that I may know Your testimonies. It is time for the Lord to act, for they have broken Your law. Therefore I love Your commandments above gold, yes, above fine gold. Therefore I esteem right all Your precepts concerning everything, I hate every false way.  Psalm 119:121-128

Thoughts/questions: Yesterday’s verses started with ‘I hate’ and today’s section ends with those same words. Today the Psalmist is ‘hating’ every false way. There are a lot of false ways to choose from, and I’m not thrilled with any of them.

Lying, cheating, stealing, misleading, obstructing, telling partial truth, and the list goes on. Stealing might be my most hated ‘false way’ but all of them rob in one way or the other.

So what false way is most enticing to you? Partial truth to protect yourself? Cheating when nobody will find out, like on your taxes? Misleading for personal gain? Whichever one is your weakness, EVERY false way goes against God’s standard!

Your behavior probably doesn’t have to go from black to white, but light grey is not acceptable. It may be a little costly, but let’s all seek to eliminate EVERY false way!

Suggested prayer: Dear Jesus, help me to rid my life of all false ways . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

