Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 13, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:129-136 – Is God Looking for You?

Day 2775: Speak a blessing into someone’s life today!

Scripture: Your testimonies are wonderful; therefore my soul observes them. The unfolding of Your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple. I opened my mouth wide and panted, for I longed for Your commandments. Turn to me and be gracious to me, after Your manner with those who love Your name.

Establish my footsteps in Your word, and do not let any iniquity have dominion over me. Redeem me from the oppression of man, that I may keep Your precepts. Make Your face shine upon Your servant, and teach me Your statutes. My eyes shed streams of water, because they do not keep Your law. Psalm 119:129-136

Thoughts/questions: When someone whom we respect speaks, we listen attentively. God had to speak through the written word – imagine the chaos if everyone said, ‘God told me this!’ So His written word should garner the same respect we give the spoken word of others.

In Isaiah 66:2b God say this: But this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my wordWow, God is looking for those who tremble at His word and the Psalmist agrees!

How about us? Do we take His word for granted? Or do we give His word its due respect and honor? I know I have to pick up my game a bit there. How about you?

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, I am sorry for not ‘trembling’ at Your word . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

