Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 14, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:137-144 – Now I Get It!

Day 2776: Thank You Lord for being a rock in the storms of life!

Scripture: Righteous are You, O Lord, and upright are Your judgments. You have commanded Your testimonies in righteousness and exceeding faithfulness. My zeal has  consumed me, because my adversaries have forgotten Your words. Your word is very  pure, therefore Your servant loves it. 

I am small and despised, yet I do not forget Your precepts. Your righteousness is an everlasting righteousness, and Your law is truth. Trouble and anguish have come upon me, yet Your commandments are my delight. Your testimonies are righteous forever; give me understanding that I may live. Psalm 119:137-144

Thoughts/questions: When we think of God’s laws and commandments, our thoughts often go to The Ten Commandments. And they may not be thoughts that are my delight.

So why would the Psalmist write this? They are an obvious set of moral guidelines which give societies civility. But why delight in commandments?

Remember as a child when your parents told you what to do! If you’re similar to me, you didn’t like it, BUT now using hindsight, their guidance SHOULD have been something I welcomed and truly delighted in. Their ‘commandments’ were always in my best interest and for my immediate or long term good!

We can also ‘delight’ in God’s care for us. He loves us, His children, enough not to let us wander thru all the dangers that lie in our paths, and He knows our inability to make it on our own! May we all delight in God’s expression of care toward us thru His commandments

Suggested prayer: Father God, I accept and delight in the guidance You’ve provided for my life . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

