Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 17, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 119:161-168 – Great Peace!

Day 2779: Have one fulfilled weekend!!!

Scripture: Princes persecute me without cause, but my heart stands in awe of Your words. I rejoice at Your word, as one who finds great spoil. I hate and despise falsehood, but I love Your law. Seven times a day I praise You, because of Your righteous ordinances.

Those who love Your law have great peace, and nothing causes them to stumble. I hope for Your salvation, O Lord, and do Your commandments. My soul keeps Your testimonies, and I love them exceedingly. I keep Your precepts and Your testimonies, for all my ways are before You. Psalm 119:161-168

Thoughts/questions: Peace – so often an elusive friend. Jesus promises us His peace and the Psalmist states that great peace is available to those who love God’s law!

Why would loving a law bring peace? Foundation! Once Linda and I found a great house to buy, but the foundation was cracked badly so we didn’t make an offer.  Structure determines function, so if peace is desired, the correct structure must be in place bringing a strong foundation.

A lot of money is spent to give people peace as they buy expensive security devices. God’s peace is free!!! The laws of a nation help bring security, but can’t promise being blessed. God’s laws include His promises which bring us peace!

Security and blessings – a great foundation for peace! Love His law, be at peace!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, thank You for giving me Your word which is a strong foundation for all of my life and brings me peace . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

