Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 20, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 120 – Deceitfulness!

Day 2781: Well, Psalm 119 was pretty long, now on to #120!

Scripture: In my trouble I cried to the Lord, and He answered me. Deliver my soul, O Lord, from lying lips, from a deceitful tongue. What shall be given to you, and what more shall be done to you, you deceitful tongue? 

Sharp arrows of the warrior, with the burning coals of the broom tree. Woe is me, for I sojourn in Meshech, for I dwell among the tents of Kedar! Too long has my soul had its dwelling with those who hate peace. I am for peace, but when I speak, they are for war. Psalm 120

Thoughts/questions: When truth is illusive, lying lips and deceitful tongues prevail. Not fun. Certainly that is a time to cry to the Lord and request that He deliver one’s soul.

This is a time when Micah 6:8 comes to mind as here the Lord commands His people to “act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with the Lord your God.” When lied to, our pride can justify any number of reactions contrary to the advice found in Micah.

But when lied to, it is definitely the time to rely on the Holy Spirit to produce the Fruit of the Spirit in our lives. Vindication and pride can be replaced by peace, kindness, and self-control. Always do right; always trust; always demonstrate love; and the truth will ultimately prevail!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, when faced with lies, may I always reflect Jesus even to those who are deceitful with me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

