Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 5, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 23 – I Shall Not WANT!

Day 2794:  A Great Chapter in the Bible – Psalm 23!!!

Scripture:  The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.  Psalm 23:1

Thoughts/questions:  In both the Old and New Testaments we are written of as sheep needing a shepherd, and He IS that Shepherd!  Sheep are not wild animals but are owned and valued greatly by their shepherd.  For the sheep, the shepherd is their everything!  Is this true for you, or in your life is the word ‘Lord’ spelled ‘lord?’  Only when He is Lord of all can He function as our Shepherd.  Stop right now, and commit or re-commit everything in your life to the gentle care of your loving Shepherd . . .

I shall not want – this is another confident statement.  This phrase is not God’s position in relationship to us, but it is our commitment that we will choose to not ‘want’ because we recognize the God of the universe as the Lord of our lives.  If financial loss were to come, I shall not want.  If our political situation brings chaos to our land, I shall not want.  If a job change comes our way, I shall not want.  If I don’t possess all that I wish for, I shall not want.  Even when I die, I shall not want.  Our Shepherd may utilize many means to ‘supply’ our needs, but He is always the ‘source’ of everything!

It is not because our bank account is plentiful; it is not because we have every thing that we want; it is not because of our skill in supplying our needs; NO, I shall not want because I know Him and fully comprehend His love for me!  If you don’t know Him this way, begin to depend on Him daily for everything!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, thank You!  You are my Shepherd, I shall not want . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

