Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 6, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 23 – Lie Down!

Day 2795:  Off line so reposting Psalm 23!

Scripture:  He makes me lie down in green pastures, and He leads me beside quiet waters.  Psalm 23:2

Thoughts/questions:  If sheep could talk, these words would be major compliments to the shepherd!  Nourishment and living water – mandatory for our sustenance both physically and spiritually!

Without sounding too crass, lack of the above in the physical arena causes an estimated 1.8 million deaths in children per year due to diarrhea.  When we don’t get spiritually nourished by the Lord, we get ‘spiritual diarrhea.’  Maybe you don’t, but I do.  When pursuing my own nourishment – fun; fair; my way; mine, mine, mine – I’ve seen the results in my life and they aren’t pretty, and I can stink my life up pretty good when out there own my own.  I think we’ve all been there a time or two too many!

HOWEVER, He makes me lie down in green pastures – makes – We stop and lie down to sleep every day because that’s how He made us – a time to reflect on His blessings and the green pastures He has provided for us in so many ways.   But do we?  For most of us, probably not often enough,  Join me in committing to rejoice in His green pasturesevery night when He makes us lie down!  Then receive His nourishment and eliminate that ‘spiritual diarrhea.’

Lie down and quiet waters – words brimming over with peaceful potential.  When I take the lead, my waters get stirred up and are often filled with tumultuous waves.  These are not His quiet waters.  Take the hand of the Almighty God, hold on to it tightly, never let it go, don’t pull Him in your direction, allow Him to lead you to His quiet waters, and drink deeply!!!  (maybe even ‘jump’ in for a refreshing spiritual dip!)

Suggested prayer:  Dear Lord and Shepherd, help me reflect on who You are and what You’ve done for me every night.  Please help me hold tightly to Your hand . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

