Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 12, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 130 – Fear of Forgiveness???

Day 2800: Be sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s leading today as He has specific plans for you!

Scripture: Out of the depths I have cried to You, O Lord. Lord, hear my voice! Let Your ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications. If You, Lord, should mark iniquities, O Lord, who could stand? But there is forgiveness with You, that You may be feared.

I wait for the Lord, my soul does wait, and in His word do I hope. My soul waits for the Lord more than the watchmen for the morning; indeed, more than the watchmen for the morning. O Israel, hope in the Lord; for with the Lord there is lovingkindness, and with Him is abundant redemption. And He will redeem Israel from all his iniquities. Psalm 130

Thoughts/questions: The Psalmist definitely defines ‘fear’ differently than we do! If God DID remember our sins, then we’d have a God to be afraid of, but not our God who shows forgiveness!!! Maybe respect, awe, reverence, honor – but not fear!

Then the Psalmist states something very hard for me to do –  wait for the Lord. Go, don’t stop, next, what else – BUT wait??? That’s a hard one. OK, I’ll try to wait – maybe tomorrow as I’m pretty busy today . . .

Suggested prayer: Dear Lord, thank You that You are a God who forgives! And help me to slow down and wait for You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

