Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 13, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 131 – Live Simply, Have Hope!

Day 2801: Great is our God!!!

Scripture: O Lord, my heart is not proud, nor my eyes haughty; nor do I involve myself in great matters, or in things too difficult for me. Surely I have composed and quieted my soul; like a weaned child rests against his mother, my soul is like a weaned child within me. 

O Israel, hope in the Lord from this time forth and forever.   Psalm 131

Thoughts/questions: None of us can remember this stage of life, but probably an unweaned child leaning against two instant feeding devices is not at complete rest. However, the Psalmist uses a weaned child with no ulterior motives to illustrate how at peace his soul had become!

Key words – had become. The author states that he had to discipline himself to attain this level of peace – How?  First it was perspective; he realized that in relationship to The Almighty, there was no room for pride or having an attitude. Second, he also realized who he was and stayed within himself.

Often athletes will say, ‘I’ve got to stay within myself and not try to do too much.’ They are aware of their talent level and know if they try to do things they normally can’t do well, bad things will happen. Well, the Psalmist also used this technique. He wasn’t after the big prize nor did he try to do more than he was capable of.

Your route to peace – know who you are, like you you are, BE who you are! Your route to hope – hope in the Lord from this time forth and forever!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, help me to better know who I am and Who You are . . .

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

