Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 14, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 132 – God Fulfills His Promise!

Day 2802: Another Friday to TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven!!!

Scripture: Remember, O Lord, on David’s behalf, all his affliction; how he swore to the Lord and vowed to the Mighty One of Jacob, “Surely I will not enter my house, nor lie on my bed; I will not give sleep to my eyes or slumber to my eyelids, until I find a place for the Lord, a dwelling place for the Mighty One of Jacob.”

For the sake of David Your servant, do not turn away the face of Your anointed. The Lord has sworn to David a truth from which He will not turn back: “Of the fruit of your body I will set upon your throne. “If your sons will keep My covenant and My testimony which I will teach them, their sons also shall sit upon your throne forever.” 

“There I will cause the horn of David to spring forth; I have prepared a lamp for Mine anointed. “His enemies I will clothe with shame, but upon himself his crown shall shine.” Portions of Psalm 132

Thoughts/questions: This Psalm clearly indicates 2 things: 1) God’s promises have conditions even with David – if his sons obey, then they will always be kings of Israel. We like the promises, but sometimes don’t like the conditions. Gotta take them both!

2) God’s promises are for those who seek Him. God promised that the enemies of David would be shamed, but David would be blessed. He loves us all, but treats us differently depending on our response to Him. God loves you is true, but may send the wrong message as it simplifies our responsibility.

WE have a definite role in our relationship with God. Let’s all put on our spiritual big boy/girl pants and DO what we KNOW to be right!

Suggested prayer: Father God, help me to not be lazy in my walk with You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

