Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 25, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 139:1-6 – Yes, He Knows Me!

Day 2811: Too great a Psalm not to spend a few days on!

Scripture: O Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You understand my thoughts from afar. You scrutinize my path and my lying down, and are intimately acquainted with all my ways.

Even before there is a word on my tongue, behold, O Lord, You know it all. You have enclosed me behind and before, and laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is too high, I cannot attain to it.  Psalm 139:1-6

Thoughts/questions: I definitely agree with the Psalmist – this knowledge is too wonderful for me! That He knows everything about me – what I do, where I go, what I think about, what I’m ‘going’ to say – yes, He knows it ALL!

That’s bad enough in itself as a few of my activities, thoughts, and words I’d certainly like to keep from Him, but I guess that’s where forgiveness comes in. Two things come to mind: 1) His intimate knowledge of every thought, word, and deed of mine does not diminish His love for me nor His desire to commune with me daily. That IS unconditional love!

2) That He has all this pre-knowledge, and yet we are not puppets but free moral agents is truly too high for me, I cannot attain to it. At times I would like to comprehend God and am a bit frustrated with Him, but all in all, for God to be God I cannot and WILL not ever attain to Him! He’s God, I’m not!!!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God; You are FAR too wonderful for my comprehension or understanding. You are the great and mighty God . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

