Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 28, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 139:17-22 – Always!

Day 2814: Another TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven – never gets old . . .

Scripture:  How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them! If I should count them, they would outnumber the sand. When I awake, I am still with You.

O that You would slay the wicked, O God; depart from me, therefore, men of bloodshed. For they speak against You wickedly, and Your enemies take Your name in vain. Do I not hate those who hate You, O LordAnd do I not loathe those who rise up against You? I hate them with the utmost hatred; they have become my enemies.   Psalm 139:17-22

Thoughts/questions: It seems to make sense that I think about God, but Him extending His thoughts towards me – wow! And from the Psalmist’s point of view, God is pretty much continually thinking about each one of us! That IS precious!

When I awake, I am still with You – this will ALWAYS be true. Whether we awake on earth or some day when we awake in heaven, we will still be w/Him! In this crazy mixed up world, that’s a certainty we can count on!

The Psalmist didn’t have a handle on the ‘love your enemies’ teaching of Jesus, but God does. How He patiently deals w/those in direct opposition to Him I don’t know – another example of His unconditional love. Most of the time I am more like the Psalmist not like God. May I (we) change to express God’s unconditional love to all!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, the more I know about You, the more impressed I am by You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

