Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 29, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 139:23, 24 –

Day 2815: May your last weekend in July be a truly great one!

Scripture: Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me and know my anxious thoughts; and see if there be any hurtful way in me, and lead me in the everlasting way.  Psalm 139:23, 24

Thoughts/questions: Search me, O God – Even though God knows all, the Psalmist is willing for God to evaluate every part of his life. God doesn’t need our permission, but we should welcome Him into every corner of our lives!

Know my heart – If you haven’t read ‘My Heart: Christ’s Home!’ you should. Again the Psalmist wants God to invade EVERY part of him, even his most important part – his heart. May God know our heart as well!

Know my anxious thoughts – Worry! In this case, I believe that by God knowing his anxious thoughts, the Psalmist wants God to take them away! Anxious thoughts or fear turning into trust and faith! Let’s do this as well!

See if there be any hurtful way in me – These words are directed to God. The Psalmist did not want to hurt God. Again, not just see if the hurtful ways exist, but a request for God to REMOVE them!  

Lead me in the everlasting way – There are lots of paths and ways that we can choose to take. God’s way is the everlasting way. May we always choose to be lead in His way!

Suggested prayer: Father God, help me to be completely Yours without holding anything back . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

