Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 4, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 141 – Our Present Help!

Day 2820: It’s Friday!!!

Scripture: O Lord, I call upon You; hasten to me! Give ear to my voice when I call to You! Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips. Do not incline my heart to any evil thing, to practice deeds of wickedness with men who do iniquity; and do not let me eat of their delicacies. Let the righteous smite me in kindness and reprove me; it is oil upon the head; do not let my head refuse it, for still my prayer is against their wicked deeds. 

For my eyes are toward You, O God, the Lord; in You I take refuge; do not leave me defenseless. Keep me from the jaws of the trap which they have set for me, and from the snares of those who do iniquity. Let the wicked fall into their own nets, while I pass by safely.  Excerpts from Psalm 141

Thoughts/questions: This Psalm might be summarized in one word – HELP! You would think the writer of this Psalm also wrote Psalm 46:1 – God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. They aren’t the same author, but they know the same God!

Is God our crutch? Unashamedly YES! When I see the rows of prescription drugs and over the counter drugs; when I’m aware of the use of illegal drugs; when I see counters full of alcohol – we all need a little help from our friends.

And for those of us who know God, Jesus, Holy Spirit; we KNOW where our help comes from – our help comes from the LORD! And who/what better than Him – nothing!

Suggested prayer: Dear God, Jesus, Holy Spirit, You ARE my help always! Thank You for always being there for me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

