Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 14, 2024

Psalms — Black is Black!!!

Day 4885: Always thankful for forgiveness! TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven!

Scripture: Oh, what joy for those whose disobedience is forgiven, whose sin is put out of sight. Yes, what joy for those whose record the Lord has cleared of guilt, whose lives are lived in complete honesty! Psalm 32:1, 2

Thoughts/questions: I’ve been involved with various Teen Challenge activities. For those of you who don’t know what Teen Challenge is, they are a Christian rehab group for adult addicts. I’ve heard their testimonies and watched them worship, and they REALLY demonstrate the words of the Psalmist in today’s verses.

And I’ve always been a bit jealous of them. Their enthusiasm and thankfulness are obvious by their energy and the looks on their faces. They truly praise God for His forgiveness. However, at one point I realized I should be just as thankful as they are – and even more so! Their sins were black; my sins were black. They lived in darkness; I lived in darkness. They moved from darkness to light; I did the same. They’re forgiven much; I am forgiven much! And so are you!!!!!!

And I’m better off! Why? My testimony might not be as engaging as theirs, but I don’t have to deal with the demons and temptations they are faced with! And I’m thankful for that. Today’s verses should be the testimony of ALL Christ followers!

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, help me to understand the depth of my forgiveness . . .


Leave a comment

Categories