Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 17, 2024

Prayer — Pray Without Ceasing Or???

Day 4887: The longest days of the year this week in the northern hemisphere – enjoy them!!!

Scripture: Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. I Thessalonians 5:16-18

Thoughts/questions: Our area director for FCA, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, gave me a book to read as I currently chair our local board. The book is on prayer and I trust that my prayer life will be very different after reading and applying the info in the book. My prayer life has really never been what I think it should be and I’ve often said that instead of doing what today’s verses state, I was going to cease without praying.

Sadly, another indicator of my limited prayer life would be that in the over 4800 devos within 80+ categories, I have never done a series on prayer. It’s about time! This book, Lead with Prayer, refers to people having a Rule of Life. This ‘rule’ refers to the chosen things we do on a regular or habitual basis. For example, part of my Rule of Life would be my start of each day. I start by swishing my mouth with coconut oil and then drinking a concoction of green tea, lemon juice, honey, and apple cider vinegar. When I’m home, I do this every day.

But where does prayer fit in my Rule of LIfe – it kind of does as I pray before every meal and periodically throughout the day, but I don’t set aside time each day to pray. I need to do better. It’s not too late. So, I am interrupting the series on Psalms to do a series on prayer and I may be the main beneficiary, and hopefully you will too!

Suggested prayer: Father God, I confess my lack of praying to You. Help me to do better . . .


Leave a comment

Categories