Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 25, 2024

Prayer — Last One!

Day 4894: Finishing up our short break from Psalms to focus on prayer!

Scripture: The confidence I can have when approaching God is that if I ask anything according to His will, He hears me! And knowing that He hears whatever I ask, I also know that I have what I asked of Him. I John 5:14, 15 “Father, if it’s possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from Me. But let Your will be done rather than Mine.” I John 5:14, 15

Thoughts/questiohs: The importance of prayer is a given. Our deficiencies in prayer is pretty much a given as well. But a, if not the, major motivation for prayer is to align ourselves properly with God’s will for us! John wrote about it, and Jesus modeled it in His prayer in the Garden of Gethsemane.

‘Your will be done’ should be spoken at the end of every prayer that has a request in it. We might have very strong feelings about our prayer, and we also might think the answer we are requesting is the appropriate one. But when we go to God in prayer, things change. And most of the time that change is within us. We still want what we prayed for, but we prioritize God’s will over what we want!

Yes, the end of this short series and the end of our prayers should always be – ‘YOUR WILL BE DONE!!!’

Suggested prayer: Lord God, we want so many things, but what we want the most if for Your will to be done . . .


Leave a comment

Categories