Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 23, 2024

Psalms — We All Need Support!!!

Day 4866: Always look up – the skies are full of His glory!

Scripture: He reached down from on high and took hold of me; He drew me out of deep waters. He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support. He brought me out into a spacious place; He rescued me because He delighted in me. Psalm 18:16-19

Thoughts/questions: A crutch, eh . . . That’s what Christ followers are accused of, as they imply some sort of character flaw or weakness and those type couldn’t function well without Jesus. However, God created us to need Him, and statistics bear out humanity’s need for some form of help. The number of people in the U.S. using some kind of legal anti-depressants; using some kind of illegal or legal drug; using or abusing alcohol; and other means of self-medication indicates that God was right – we can’t do life on our own!

The Psalmist agrees and these few verses from Psalm 18 are a small sample of all of the reasons to find our support in God! And never does he use the word crutch. Plus, we don’t go to Him without Him first coming to us (He reached down from on high and took hold of me). He’s not our last resort, but He should be the first place to find our support. Yes, we need to be rescued, and He rescues us!

Support needed? Guaranteed at some point in this life! Go to Jesus!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, You know the needs of Your creation, and You are there for us at all times . . .


Leave a comment

Categories