Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 28, 2024

Christ Followers — Acknowledge and Confess!

Day 4814: Thank you readers for sharing this journey with me!

Scripture: If I confess my sins, He is faithful and just to forgive me of my sins and to cleanse me from all unrighteousness!  If I say that I have not sinned, I would be calling God a liar, and that His word is not in me. I John 1:9, 10

Thoughts/questions: One commonality of humanity is sin. We’ve all fallen short of perfection, and it is an issue that every individual needs to resolve. God tells Christ followers to do two things: The first would be that we acknowledge that we sin. Not a problem for most of us!

The second is a little more controversial. Usually what is heard is that we are to ask God for forgiveness. Our request is then granted when we truly repent. However, today’s verses teach us differently. The condition is confessing, not asking. There are many verses in the Bible which include confession of sin, and others which state that God forgives us as we forgive others – i.e. The Lord’s Prayer.

So why confess and not ask? There are a number or reasons which I’ll put in tomorrow’s devo! But for today, consider the distance between your sin and your acknowledgement of that sin as your maturity in Christ. The shorter the time frame, the more mature! We sin, we quickly confess, and God forgives!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, thank You for always being willing to forgive again and again and again . . .


Leave a comment

Categories