Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 24, 2024

Psalms — Willful Sins!?

Day 4867: TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven! But even forgiveness has its limits – read on.

Scripture: Cleanse me from my hidden faults. Keep Your servant also from willful sins; may they not rule over me. Then I will be blameless and cleansed of great transgression. May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in Your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:12a-14

Thoughts/questions: Psalm 19 is such a great Psalm that I almost just wrote out the entire Psalm. But I saw an opportunity to address an issue not talked about very much and that is ‘willful sins.‘ I believe these to be distinctive sins because they involve a choice, and choosing to repeat the same sin over and over puts one in a spiritually dangerous position.

There are lists of sins in the Bible that have dire consequences and pretty much all of them fall in this willful sin category. So take heed Christ followers, we all sin but make sure there is NOTHING you are doing which would be characterized as being continual and by choice! NOTHING!!!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, Cleanse me from my hidden faults. Keep Your servant also from willful sins . . .


Leave a comment

Categories