Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 14, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 70 – Poor and Needy

Day 2674: And a Happy Valentine’s to one and all! And as Christ followers, love is our theme every day!

Scripture: Hasten, O God, to save me; come quickly, Lord, to help me. May those who want to take my life be put to shame and confusion; may all who desire my ruin be turned back in disgrace.  May those who say to me, “Aha! Aha!” turn back because of their shame.

But may all who seek You rejoice and be glad in You; may those who long for Your saving help always say, “The Lord is great!” But as for me, I am poor and needy; come quickly to me, O God. You are my help and my deliverer; Lord, do not delay.  Psalm 70

Thoughts/questions: Today the Psalmist, David, contrasts himself and God. Although a king, when comparing to ‘The Lord is great,’ David calls himself poor and needy.

Do you concur with him or do we tend to compare ourselves to others? When looking horizontally, we might appear rich in some areas and certainly self-sufficient. But the reality is, we ARE ALL poor and needy.

When we are finally broken and realize that without God we are nothing, then He will lift us up and place us in the appropriate place in relation to Him and others! Time to speak the truth in complete humility, “I am poor, Lord! And I am needy! Without You, I am nothing!” Speak it, believe it, live it!

Suggested prayer: True and Living God, Thank You for being so great and yet still loving me . . .


Leave a comment

Categories