Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 25, 2016

Proverbs 25:18-22

Day 2377: May your day be blessed by practicing the presence of the living God of the universe!

Scripture:  If I tell lies about others, it is like hurting them with a club, or a sword, or a sharp arrow.  Like having a bad tooth or a lame foot is relying on the unfaithful in times of trouble.  If I sing cheerful songs to one who has a heavy heart, it is like stealing someone’s jacket on a cold day or like rubbing salt in a wound.  If my enemies are hungry, I should give them something to eat.  If they are thirsty, I should give them water to drink.  In doing this, I will be heaping burning coals on their heads, and the Lord will reward me!  Proverbs 25:18-22

Thoughts/questions:  Character and integrity – two results from a continual exercise of God’s wisdom!!  These verses indicate that wisdom does not include lying, being unfaithful, being inconsiderate, displaying selfishness, or seeking our own reward.  When we avoid these, we also avoid all of the negative things resulting from practicing them!

After having a bad tooth (tooths!!) for 8 months one time, I really get that analogy – I don’t ever want to be unfaithful in times of trouble and give that measure of pain to anyone.  Lord, help me to always be faithful to You in my troubled times and to others in theirs!

There are a number of takes on heaping burning coals on their heads, so instead let’s focus on the key word – GIVE!  Whether it be friend or foe, when there is a need, food, water, or troubled times, we ARE to be faithful and give!!!  No exceptions!

Suggested Prayer:  Living God, You have set a high standard for me, but with Your help, I will meet it . . . 


Leave a comment

Categories